Brazilian butt lift in Mexico
A Brazilian butt lift is gluteal fat grafting. It is not injectable silicone or simply a buttock lift. Multi-society statements describe significant risk relative to other elective aesthetic operations. They support placing fat above the gluteal fascia with real-time ultrasound. They also support qualified surgeons, appropriate privileges, and direct oversight during planning, surgery, and postoperative care. These measures reduce specific hazards but do not remove risk. [16][19][20]
Insufficient comparable evidence for a single like-for-like BBL range. Observed BBL-labeled prices are $3,100, $4,500, and $5,740 USD; technique and included liposuction are not stated consistently across sources.
$7,264 average US surgeon fee
US source row: Buttock Augmentation with Fat Grafting
Mexico commercial price evidence
Study display: Insufficient comparable evidence for a single like-for-like BBL range. Observed BBL-labeled prices are $3,100, $4,500, and $5,740 USD; technique and included liposuction are not stated consistently across sources.
No single like-for-like range was calculated. Only the Top Plastic Surgeons Mexico row expressly states fat injections plus liposuction. The other BBL-labeled rows do not establish the same technique or liposuction scope.
Observed commercial evidence for planning only—not an audited market average, quote, availability statement, quality evidence, or savings claim.
Commercial-source disclosure: Medical Tourism Corporation, Top Plastic Surgeons Mexico are a marketplace or facilitator serving people seeking care. Inclusion here does not imply independence, screening, availability, or quality.
Medical Group of Cancun — clinic/provider
- Displayed price
- $5,740 USD
- Exact variant
- Brazilian buttocks lift
- City/context
- Cancún clinic/provider
- Inclusions/exclusions
- General clinic inclusion note applies; liposuction areas and transferred volume are not named.
- Retrieved
- 2026-08-27
Medical Tourism Corporation — medical-tourism facilitator
- Displayed price
- $4,500 USD
- Exact variant
- Brazilian butt lift (BBL)
- City/context
- Mexico-wide facilitator
- Inclusions/exclusions
- Liposuction areas, fat volume, and row-level package contents are not itemized.
- Retrieved
- 2026-08-27
Top Plastic Surgeons Mexico — facilitator/provider
- Displayed price
- US$3,100
- Exact variant
- Fat injections into buttock plus liposuction
- City/context
- Mexico City facilitator/provider
- Inclusions/exclusions
- Provider says base prices include procedure, surgeon, anesthesiologist/team, hospital stay, supplies/medication, implants if necessary, and consultations. Hotel and flights are not in that base list.
- Retrieved
- 2026-08-27
Distinguish fat grafting, implants, lift, and injections
BBL transfers harvested fat; implants use surgically placed devices; a buttock lift removes excess tissue and does not inherently add volume. [16]
FDA says injectable silicone is not approved for body contouring and warns of permanent injury and death. It is not a BBL. [21]
Audit question: What exact procedure and harvest areas are proposed, and does any vague injection language conceal a different material or operation?
Put injection plane and ultrasound at the center
Multi-society statements support injection only in the subcutaneous plane above the gluteal fascia and real-time ultrasound visualization of the cannula tip during injection. Describe these as supported risk-reduction measures, not as making BBL free of danger. [19][20]
Audit question: Will ultrasound show and document the cannula tip throughout injection, and how does the surgeon maintain the intended plane?
Name who performs every critical step
Ask who performs liposuction harvest, processes fat, inserts and controls the injection cannula, and remains responsible throughout the operation.
The safety statements oppose untrained or non-surgeon assistants performing critical portions and emphasize direct surgeon oversight. [19][20]
Audit question: Does the named surgeon personally perform the critical injection, and are all assistants, roles, credentials, and handoffs disclosed?
Review privileges, site, and workload
Ask where the surgeon holds privileges for gluteal fat grafting, the exact operating site, anesthesia team, emergency transfer, daily caseload, and concurrent-room practice.
Do not import another jurisdiction's case-limit rule as Mexican law; workload is a transparency and oversight question here. [19][20][8]
Audit question: Does facility capability match the procedure, and can the surgeon explain how workload permits continuous critical-step responsibility and postoperative access?
Discuss BBL-specific serious risks
Fat embolism belongs prominently in informed consent alongside anesthesia risk, bleeding, infection, fluid collections, wound issues, fat necrosis, contour or asymmetry, sensation change, DVT, cardiopulmonary events, and possible revision. This non-exhaustive attributed list supplies no mortality percentage or individual probability. [17][19][20]
Audit question: Which symptoms require emergency evaluation, where does that occur, and who contacts the receiving facility with the operative details?
Design positioning and travel logistics
ASPS generally describes avoiding prolonged sitting, alternative sleep positioning, cushions, and later activity milestones, but those descriptions are not instructions for an individual. [18]
Obtain a written plan for sitting, sleep, car and airport transfers, toilets, seating, walking, garments, and companion support. [18][1]
Audit question: How can the actual route follow the surgeon's plan, what findings delay it, and who reassesses positioning and travel before departure?
Require distance-care oversight
Multi-society statements say surgeons treating patients at a distance need comprehensive preoperative and postoperative protocols and availability to provide or participate in complication management. [19][20]
A coordinator-only message path is not direct clinical oversight.
Audit question: Who responds after hours, where are respiratory, embolic, wound, or infection concerns assessed, and how does the surgeon participate after return?
Preserve non-equivalent cost scope
The Mexico study reports insufficient comparable evidence for one like-for-like BBL range. It shows separate BBL-labeled prices of $3,100, $4,500, and $5,740 USD because technique and included liposuction are not stated consistently across sources. [36][34][43]
Neither amount establishes quality or market price. [33][34]
Audit question: Which harvest areas, ultrasound, anesthesia, facility, garments, reviews, unplanned care, and revision terms are included?
ASPS distinguishes fat grafting, implants, and tissue-removing buttock lift approaches. FDA separately warns that injectable silicone for body contouring is unapproved and can cause severe, potentially irreversible harm; silicone injection is not BBL. [16][21]
Multi-society statements support subcutaneous placement above fascia, real-time ultrasound visualization during injection, qualified surgeon performance of critical portions, appropriate privileges, and direct participation in distance care. These are risk-reduction and oversight measures, not a claim that risk disappears. [19][20]
ASPS recovery descriptions about sitting, sleep, cushions, or activity are general and must be replaced by the treating surgeon’s plan for this person and route. [18]
Ask who harvests and processes fat, controls the cannula, documents ultrasound, and provides in-person urgent assessment. Connect the written plan to transfers, seating, toilets, lodging, companion help, reviews, after-hours access, and operating-surgeon participation after return.
General candidacy context
Only qualified treating clinicians can assess candidacy for gluteal fat grafting or alternatives. This page does not infer that ultrasound, a credential, a particular body type, or a destination makes the operation appropriate.
Recovery and travel
Obtain individualized written sitting, sleeping, transfer, mobility, garment, wound, medicine, follow-up, emergency, and travel instructions. General ASPS descriptions and package schedules must not be treated as the traveler's plan or clearance. [1][18]
Questions to ask
- Is this fat grafting, implants, lift, or another injection?
- Is all fat placed above the fascia?
- Is real-time ultrasound used throughout injection?
- Who performs harvest and injection?
- How many operations and concurrent rooms are planned?
- What privileges apply?
- What exact positioning and travel plan is written?
- Who manages complications after return?
Frequently asked questions
Is BBL the same as silicone injections?
No. BBL is fat grafting; FDA warns silicone injection is not approved for body contouring. [16][21]
Why ask about ultrasound?
Society statements support real-time imaging to help keep injection in the intended plane. [19][20]
Does ultrasound remove embolism risk?
No. It is a supported risk-reduction measure, not an outcome promise. [19][20]
How long can I not sit?
Obtain individualized written instructions; the ASPS page provides only a general description. [18]
Sources
Publication or update dates and retrieval dates are shown for each source.
Commercial price evidence is case-dependent planning material—not an audited market average, patient quote, availability statement, quality evidence, or savings claim.
Sources identified as marketplaces or facilitators serve people seeking care. Their inclusion does not imply independence or screening.
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons: Buttock Enhancement — No date shown; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- ASPS, PSF, The Aesthetic Society, and ASERF: Gluteal Fat Grafting: A Joint Safety Statement — August 18, 2022; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- International Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery: Patient Safety During Gluteal Fat Grafting — 2023; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- US Food and Drug Administration: Warning on injectable silicone for body contouring — November 13, 2017; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- COFEPRIS: Updated high-level directive for establishments performing aesthetic surgical procedures — December 4, 2024; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons: Buttock Enhancement Risks and Safety — No date shown; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons: Buttock Enhancement Recovery — No date shown; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: CDC Yellow Book 2026: Medical Tourism — April 23, 2025; retrieved 2026-08-26.
- Medical Group of Cancun: Published procedure price list — No date shown; retrieved 2026-08-27; clinic/provider.
- Medical Tourism Corporation: Commercial Mexico plastic-surgery price list (page shows August 25, 2026 near title) — Last updated August 24, 2026; retrieved 2026-08-27; medical-tourism facilitator.
- Top Plastic Surgeons Mexico: Mexico City plastic-surgery base price list — No date shown; retrieved 2026-08-27; facilitator/provider.
- American Society of Plastic Surgeons: 2023 Cosmetic Procedures Average Cost — 2023; retrieved 2026-08-26.